A small update

It’s been a while since I’ve blogged, and I’ve definitely missed it! As you may know, the JLPT (Japanese Language Proficiency Test) was this month, and I decided to try for N2. I’ll be honest and say it was a challenge and a struggle. I spent every spare moment studying grammar, reading newspaper articles, books, watching the news in Japanese, documentaries in Japanese, and learning with my teacher.  Even after all that, I still did not feel ready on the day of the test. The only thing I was confident about: my listening skills. What I was most worried about: everything else! Although my reading ability improved massively these last couple of months, I still dreaded kanji. N2 also made me realise how much I lacked in vocabulary. So really, I would either know how to read the kanji, or not at all. I would know the vocabulary, or never have seen it in my life. For me, that was the greatest struggle, and I realised N2 is not just about studying, like you would for a math test (revising formulas etc.), but about knowledge, and nurturing that knowledge. It was about expanding your vocabulary, improving your comprehension, and taking your Japanese to a whole new level. I honestly cannot say whether or not I passed or failed, but I tried. The online results come out in February, so I’ll have to wait till then. Fingers crossed!

Also, towards the beginning of the month I applied for a new job, and after several interviews I finally got it! I’m truly excited about this job, as it’s in relation to Japan 😀 Honestly, what more could I wish for. I’ll be starting in the New Year, and they’ve been nice enough to still allow me to go on my holiday to Japan (two weeks after I start!). 2015 looks like it’s off to a good start.

So expect lots more blog posts from me from now on, and come join me on my second series of Maigo in Japan 😉

4 thoughts on “A small update

Leave a Reply

