Japanese sweets

Remember how I said my friend was sending me a box of sweets from Japan…well they’ve arrived! やった!(^O^)/ Yay!

Japanese sweets

Actually they arrived on Monday, March 3rd, meaning the hina arare arrived just in time for hina matsuri, but sadly I wasn’t in to receive the delivery.

hina arare
hina arare

The hina arare was really yummy! It’s the first thing I opened, and I nearly ate the whole pack in one go. You can’t really go wrong with sugar coated popped rice though can you 😉

Along with that I also got…

dondon yaki
dondon yaki

I’m not sure whether this comes in different flavours, but this one was ソース味 (sauce flavour). I wasn’t really sure what it meant by sauce flavour, so I looked it up. dondon yaki is in fact originally a traditional Japanese food from Yamagata. It’s a type of okonomiyaki, so a kind of pancake, wrapped around a wooden stick. It’s a street food, which you’ll find sold in stalls, but also at festivals. Obviously, it now also comes in the form of these crackers. And the reason why it’s called dondon yaki? Well, the stalls that made these would often beat their drums between each customer to attract more business, therefore the onomatopoeia for drums in Japanese ドンドン dondon was added to word yaki (焼き), which means to fry. I really liked these! They had a slight spiciness to them which worked really well.

IMG_6251
ao ringo

These had to be my least favourite, as I found the taste to be almost a little to subtle. I would’ve wanted more apple flavour. What I did like though is the cute little toothpick that comes with it to pick the candy out the tray 🙂

IMG_6250

 

This on the other hand was just bursting with flavours. It’s really sweet and has a strong grape taste. Plus it comes with a small toy! (Although I’m not quite sure what the toy is. A hair piece perhaps? ^^;)

これなーに??
これなーに??
IMG_6249
konnyaku zeri

And this one is pretty much Jell-o in a tube. Yum )^o^( This reminded me of  my childhood. I used to love making Jell-o at home with my mom. It’s great how sometimes packaging and presentation can make all difference though, and make you enjoy it even more.

IMG_6247
choco baby

Quite simply chocolate, but again packaging and presentation makes all the difference! There’s just something about bit size tic-tac shaped chocolate that makes it all the more enjoyable.

Melty Kiss
Melty Kiss

And finally…Melty Kiss! It is exactly as the box says, 口どけ (kuchi doke), which means “melt in the mouth”. It was so smooth and chocalatey, and to top it all it was my favourite flavour: matcha!

If you’ve got a sweet tooth like me, and want to try some Japanese sweets, you can always buy some at the Japan Centre.

Which is your favourite one? 😉

6 thoughts on “Japanese sweets

  1. Those polo shaped sweets are designed so that they whistle when you blow through the middle hole right? Something I remember from when I was younger!

    Like

  2. Lovely! My wife is Japanese, and her mum often sends me sweets from there. I can totally imagine what these are like! I’ve had quite a few Meltykiss over the years 🙂 It is such a shame there’s no Japan Centre near Edinburgh, where we live…

    Like

    1. Melty Kiss are great aren’t they?! I’ll have to try the other flavours too though 🙂 Shame you don’t have Japan Centre near by, but it guess that makes it all the more special when it gets sent to you 😀

      Like

Leave a Reply

