The Story of Yonosuke (横道世之介)

On the last night of Japan Foundation’s East Side Stories touring film festival in London, I was finally able to see the one movie I had been yearning to see for over a year now: The Story of Yonosuke (横道世之介). I first heard about it through Third Window Films, so I was really glad it was on the list of movies featuring in the festival. I’ll admit the trailers for this movie don’t really leave much room for any element of surprise, and the story is pretty much as the trailer goes. But I wasn’t in the slightest bit disappointed and I truly enjoyed the movie.

This movie is for anyone that enjoys the “slice of life” genre, which places a greater focus on the characters and their relationships. The storyline is simple, and the characters are relatable, yet that is specifically what makes it so charming and loveable. And with a hint a comedy, you’re sure to never be bored. In fact The Story of Yonosuke has that very “Japanese ending” element, where you are left wanting more, in disbelief that it is actually the end. It is a slightly frustrating feeling, and I’ve noticed quite a lot of Japanese movies, books and sometimes dramas do this. However, with time you get used to it, and oddly enough, it is a style you soon learn to appreciate. Furthermore, The Story of Yonosuke is actually based on a novel by Shuichi Yoshida, so perhaps, some of the answers I seek are in the book. I may just see if I can find it in English!

Have any of you seen the movie or read the book? Let me know what you thought!

(Feature image source)

 

Leave a Reply

