MCM Expo May 2013

I hadn’t been to MCM Expo for a couple years, so when a couple of my friends suggested we go, I thought “why not”. This event is great for anyone who loves anime, gaming, and all things kawaii. But what I absolutely love about the expo, is all the cosplaying! People literally spend weeks preparing their costumes for this one weekend, and the results are simply amazing.

Doctor Octopus
Doctor Octopus
Doctor Octopus and Spiderman
Doctor Octopus and Spiderman
Toshiro from Bleach
Captains Ukitake, Soi Fong and Toshiro from Bleach
Toshiro and Urahara from Bleach
Toshiro and Urahara from Bleach
Ace from One Piece
Ace from One Piece
Iron Man
Iron Man
Celty from Durarara
Celty from Durarara
Nightmare from Fairy Tail
Nightmare from Fairy Tail
Street fighter
Street fighter
Kyary Pamyu Pamyu
Kyary Pamyu Pamyu

And if you didn’t cosplay this time, there were several different stands where you could buy your costume or accessories for the next expo 😉

IMG_1429
Cosplay swords
IMG_1430
Click here to see more pictures! 😀

There were also special guests over the weekend, such as Camilla Luddington (voice actress of Lara Croft) and Shinchiro Watanabe (director of Samurai Champloo and Cowboy Bebop). I was very sad I missed Shinchiro Watanabe, as I absolutely love Samurai Champloo. If you haven’t seen it, I highly recommend it.

Finally, I watched part of the cosplay masquerade, which I must say I found slightly disappointing. I tend to associate these cosplay masquerades with anime characters, and unfortunately (in my opinion) there were many entries that I found a bit random: My Little Pony, Winx etc. I know cosplaying isn’t just limited to anime and manga, but  I feel like it does have that immediate association. One show I found quite entertaining was this boy singing a song from Naruto (I believe). Although he wasn’t a great singer, I was impressed by his ability to rap in Japanese:

I would’ve loved to go all weekend, but unfortunately I had work. So I only got to experience a fraction of MCM Expo. If you had the chance to go, let me know what you thought in the comments below 🙂

How many different characters can you spot? ;)
How many different characters can you spot? 😉

2 thoughts on “MCM Expo May 2013

  1. thanks for puttin me and my firend up! (urahara and toshiro) i went online to see if i could find aan ichigo costume and bam! there it is…

    Like

Leave a Reply

