Nabe

I’ve been complaining about winter a lot recently. But seriously doesn’t it seem like it’s never going to end?! サムっ! (>_<) If we were in Japan, we could have a nice kotatsu to crawl under and hibernate till it’s at least 20°C, and we could stuff our faces with some nice warm nabe 😀 Since I couldn’t find kotatsu in London, I decided to settle for nabe with friends.

Nabe (鍋), or nabemono (鍋物), is basically a Japanese hot pot dish. Nabe literally means saucepan or pot, and mono means things. Which explains the varieties of nabe in terms of ingredients and across regions. You can have vegetables, chicken, beef, tofu, udon and much more in your nabe. The great thing is it’s cooked at the dinner table, and is kept nice and warm.

My friends and I decided to make veggie gyoza to add to the nabe, along with chicken, tofu, and udon. The nabe pot we used had two sections, so we could have two different bowls with different ingredients. Also one side, had a miso soup base. おいしかったよ!

photo 1

 

photo 2

My gyoza looks terrible! lol
My gyoza looks terrible! lol
photo 5
We also pan fried some gyoza 😀

There is also another type of nabe which is quite special, and which I think you should all know of, just in case you’re ever offered it 😉 -> 闇鍋 (やみなべ, yami nabe). Can you guess from the name what it means? Yami means dark. So what happens is each person around the table contributes to the pot by adding an ingredient, ANY ingredient. You don’t know what they’re adding, and they don’t know what you’re adding, and you eat it in the dark. I’ve heard stories of people adding gummy bears, Mcdonald chicken nuggets, bread and all sorts of other random ingredients. So it can be quite disgusting (~_~;) but it’s all in good fun.

What kind of nabe have you made before? Did you have yami nabe?

photo 4

I’ve had my snow, and I’ve had my nabe…so winter…帰ってもいいよ :p

2 thoughts on “Nabe

  1. Those gyoza look so good! I prefer winter in Japan to winter in Belgium (which is very much like winter in London, I’m sure), just because the winter in Japan doesn’t last very long. It starts around the end of November and mid February it’s mostly over. Also the winter in Japan is cold but very sunny (atleast in the East of Japan) so no winter depression due to lack of sunlight. Yeey! On the downside, houses don’t have a proper heating system so it’s also cold inside the house. In case you’re interested, I wrote a post about my tips to keep warm during Japanese winter – and nabe and kotatsu are included in the list ^_^ http://thejapans.wordpress.com/2012/01/22/6-ways-to-keep-warm-during-japanese-winter/

    I hope spring will come soon. In Belgium the upcoming weekend might be sunny with 10°C. That’s the first time this year. How about London?

    Like

    1. Omg that nabe of yours looked sooo good! (((o(*゚▽゚*)o))) Made me want to eat more nabe haha.

      I’m really hoping spring will be coming soon, but tbh London has such
      bad weather, even when in summer, all we get is rain 😦 and I believe that’s what we’re in for this weekend (/ _ ; ) please enjoy the 10 degrees and sunshine in Belgium for me! Lol

      Like

Leave a Reply

