It’s beginning to feel a lot like Christmas…

Only one week left till Christmas, and believe it or not I still haven’t bought all my presents! >_< And I had started off so well too. So it seems like this year I’m going to have to join the Christmas shopping battlefield along with hundreds of other people (@_@)

On the plus side, by the end of this week I’ll be back home in Paris to celebrate with my family (as my sister wants to me take responsibility for telling my 3 year old nephew about Santa), and then I’ve got a special trip to Disney Land planned with my friend! I haven’t been to Disney Land since middle school, so I’m really looking forward to this. I’m especially looking forward to finding Donald, since I couldn’t find him last time and was very upset :p.

It’s interesting to see how Christmas is celebrated differently in different parts of the world, or even from family to family in the same town. I remember how shocked I was the first time I spent Christmas in London, and the whole town just turned into zombie ville! By that I mean, that on the 25th there is not a single soul, bus, car, train, or opened shop. The streets are COMPLETELY empty. Also, all celebrations are done on the 25th. I was always accustomed to celebrating Christmas on the 24th, Christmas eve, and opening my presents at midnight, not first thing in the morning.

However or whenever it is celebrated, Christmas is a time to spend at home with your family. So how is it celebrated in Japan. Well, in Japan it’s not so much a family affair, but instead another romantic holiday (like valentine’s day). Most people will spend it with their partners, or at least try to get a date on Christmas eve. If you watch anime, you’ll know how important it is for the main character to get a date on Christmas eve! The date usually involves dinner and going to see the various illuminations.

(Image Source)
(Image Source)
(Image source)
(Image source)

As for food, it’s not turkey for dinner, but KFC! Even Japan Airlines will be dishing out KFC on their flights this winter.

You can have a look at the full Kentucky Christmas menu here, which even comes with a special Christmas cake for dessert. In France we have “la bûche de noël”, and in Japan they have the all important Christmas cake which is generally a strawberry sponge cake.

(Image source)
(Image source)

Looks good doesn’t it!

So how and where will you be spending the holidays this year?

 

 

Leave a Reply

